Short answer. South Africa has no national kit list. The most complete official list is the City of Cape Town's: supplies for at least three days, starting with five litres of water per person per day 1. It has 17 lines below, including one (a cellphone recharger) from the Western Cape Provincial Disaster Management Centre's grab-and-go kit 2.
What is on the official South African kit list?
Each line follows the source shown. Where no quantity is given, none is added.
| # | Item | Quantity | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Water, for drinking, cleaning and personal hygiene | 5 litres per person per day, for at least 3 days | 1 |
| 2 | Non-perishable food (tinned food, cereal bars, nuts, biscuits, etc.) | At least a 3-day supply for your family | 1 |
| 3 | Battery-powered AM/FM radio with extra batteries | 1 | 1 |
| 4 | Torch or battery-powered lantern with extra batteries | 1 | 1 |
| 5 | Basic first aid kit | 1 | 12 |
| 6 | Whistle | 1 | 1 |
| 7 | Non-electric can opener | 1 | 1 |
| 8 | Matches and/or gas lighter | Not specified | 1 |
| 9 | Clothing and strong shoes | Not specified | 1 |
| 10 | Blankets and/or sleeping bag | Not specified | 1 |
| 11 | Map of your local area | 1 | 1 |
| 12 | Pen and paper | Not specified | 1 |
| 13 | Personal hygiene supplies | Not specified | 1 |
| 14 | Essential medication (and copies of prescriptions) | Not specified | 12 |
| 15 | Cash and debit/credit cards | Not specified | 12 |
| 16 | Important documents: ID, passports, birth certificates, banking records, insurance policies, clinic cards | Not specified | 12 |
| 17 | Cellphone recharger | 1 | 2 |
Cape Town advises keeping a kit at home and, if possible, at work 1.
How do I size the list for my household?
Only water and food are tied to a duration. Multiply five litres by the number of people and by the number of days: a family of four needs 60 litres for three days 1. Our guides on water per person, food shelf life, first aid kits and emergency lighting go further. The context behind each item is on the emergency supplies page.
Turn this list into your plan
The official list above is the reference, and you can assemble everything on it yourself. The Phaenyx plan counts each line for your household, adds the risks around your home and comes with the Phaenyx Safe app. Build your Phaenyx plan.
Frequently asked questions
How many days does the South African list cover?
At least three days, according to the City of Cape Town 1.
Is this a national list?
No. The National Disaster Management Centre publishes no kit list; the City of Cape Town's is the most complete official one 1.
What is different for Koeberg evacuation?
Evacuees take two changes of clothing, bedding and toiletries among other items, but no food except special medical foods. See the iodine page.
What radio is recommended?
A battery-powered AM/FM radio with extra batteries; no brand is named 1. See our emergency radio guide.
Sources
- City of Cape Town — Disaster guidelines — https://www.capetown.gov.za/Family%20and%20home/safety-in-the-home/natural-disasters-and-your-home/disaster-guidelines (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Western Cape Government (Provincial Disaster Management Centre), 18 June 2025 — Western Cape Government urges residents to be safe during winter season — https://www.westerncape.gov.za/article/western-cape-government-urges-residents-be-safe-during-winter-season (accessed 2026-10-20)
Turn this into action
Your plan for South Africa, worked out for your household.
- Water, food and equipment counted for each person and pet
- The nuclear plants and zones around your home
- Phaenyx Safe: one tap to tell your people you are safe
Sources
- City of Cape Town · Disaster guidelines checked 2026-10-20
- Western Cape Government (Provincial Disaster Management Centre), 18 June 2025 · Western Cape Government urges residents to be safe during winter season checked 2026-10-20