UNCLASSIFIED · OPEN SOURCES Launch offer: your household plan and Phaenyx Safe are free for a limited time (regular price $29). Build my plan →
PHAENYXCivil preparedness EN

United Kingdom · Kit list

UK emergency kit checklist: the official GOV.UK list

The GOV.UK/Prepare household kit, item by item: torch, power bank, radio, first aid, 2.5-3 L of water per person per day, food, medication.

Updated 2026-10-20· 2 official sources

Short answer. The UK government's GOV.UK/Prepare site lists 12 types of household supplies for an emergency lasting a few days: a torch, a power bank, a battery or wind-up radio, spare batteries, a first aid kit, hygiene wipes, bottled water (at least 2.5-3 litres per person per day), food that needs no cooking, baby supplies, medication, and paper copies of key information 1.

What is on the official UK kit list?

Every line below comes from GOV.UK/Prepare, run by the Cabinet Office 1. Quantities are the government's own; "not specified" means it gives none.

Item Quantity
Battery or wind-up torch (torches are safer than candles) 1
Portable power bank for charging your mobile phone 1
Battery or wind-up radio for updates during a power cut 1
Spare batteries for torches and radio, plus a backup battery for any medical equipment you rely on not specified
First aid kit (waterproof plasters, bandages, thermometer, antiseptic, eyewash solution, sterile dressings and gloves, medical tape, tweezers) 1
Hand sanitiser and wet wipes not specified
Bottled water minimum 2.5-3 litres of drinking water per person per day (WHO survival figure); 10 litres per person per day for basic cooking and hygiene; extra for baby formula, medical devices and pets
Non-perishable food that does not need cooking (ready-to-eat tinned meat, fruit or vegetables), a tin opener, and food for pets varies with your circumstances
Baby supplies such as nappies and ready-made ("ready-to-feed") formula not specified
Regular medication enough for several days
Paper copy of instructions for any medical device you rely on 1
Paper list of important phone numbers (including 105 for power cuts), regular medication, frequencies of local and national radio stations, insurance details 1

How long should the kit last?

The UK sets no fixed number of days. The government asks households to plan for "an emergency lasting a few days, such as a power cut or water outage" 1. It advises building the kit up over time rather than buying everything at once 1. More detail is on the UK emergency supplies page.

What about a grab bag or car kit?

GOV.UK/Prepare also suggests a grab bag in case you have to evacuate, and a winter car kit: torch, in-car charger, warm clothes, blankets, high-visibility clothing, jump leads, food and drink, and a snow shovel 1.

Will this list change?

It may. The Resilience Action Plan 2026 implementation report (published 14 July 2026) announces new household advice and a national campaign anchored in GOV.UK/Prepare, launching "later this year" 2. This page reflects the list as consulted on 20 October 2026.

How do I adapt the list to my household?

Add water and supplies for babies, medical devices and pets, as the official list notes 1. For people with specific needs, see Emergency preparedness for children, seniors and people on medication and How do I prepare my pet for an emergency?. For rotating food and water, see How long does emergency food last?.

Turn this list into your plan

The official list above is the reference, and you can assemble everything on it yourself. The Phaenyx plan counts each line for your household, adds the risks around your home and comes with the Phaenyx Safe app. Build your Phaenyx plan.

Frequently asked questions

Does the UK recommend a 72-hour kit?

No fixed duration is given. The official advice is to plan for an emergency lasting a few days 1.

How much water for a UK emergency kit?

At least 2.5 to 3 litres of drinking water per person per day, and 10 litres per person per day for basic cooking and hygiene 1.

Why a torch rather than candles?

GOV.UK/Prepare notes that torches are safer than candles 1.

Sources

  1. Cabinet Office (GOV.UK Prepare) — Get prepared for emergencies — https://prepare.campaign.gov.uk/get-prepared-for-emergencies/ (accessed 2026-10-20)
  2. Cabinet Office — The UK Government Resilience Action Plan: 2026 Implementation Report — https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/the-uk-government-resilience-action-plan-2026-implementation-report/the-uk-government-resilience-action-plan-2026-implementation-report-html (accessed 2026-10-20)

Turn this into action

Your plan for United Kingdom, worked out for your household.

  • Water, food and equipment counted for each person and pet
  • The nuclear plants and zones around your home
  • Phaenyx Safe: one tap to tell your people you are safe

Sources

  1. Cabinet Office (GOV.UK Prepare) · Get prepared for emergencies checked 2026-10-20
  2. Cabinet Office · The UK Government Resilience Action Plan: 2026 Implementation Report checked 2026-10-20

Keep reading: Kit list